Mental Health Awareness:Schizophrenia 

Hello, guys! Today, I’ll be talking more about schizophrenia. Since it’s mental health awareness week, I thought that I’d post about my illness and how it affects people in general. So, here we go.

Schizophrenia is a psychotic disorder. That means people experience psychosis, which means that you lose touch with reality. This psychosis is chronic. You experience delusions (believing things that aren’t true), hallucinations, and other things according to that nature. Sometimes the hallucinations are visual and auditory, but they can be also experienced through taste and smell, and touch as well.

There are different types of schizophrenia such as the kind I have, which is schizoaffective disorder. I have some characteristics of bipolar disorder (which I will post about later this week) and schizophrenia. There are also others, but I suggest you look them up.

Personally, I experience a huge delusion: my life is a TV reality show. I know it’s a delusion because no one else believes it. I also have hallucinations. I used to see people, but now it’s just a feeling of someone touching me and voices. They can say mean things so I just try my best to ignore them.

Schizophrenia has genetic components, ranging from heritability to just being a relative of someone who is schizophrenic. There was a study done with those who had a relative with schizophrenia. They took this test specifically designed to see if any traits of schizophrenia shined through the participants. Those who had schizophrenia in their family did have one trait similar to those with schizophrenia.

It has also been said that if the mother has been under a lot of stress during pregnancy, there is a higher chance of the offspring getting schizophrenia. I’m not sure how true this is, but this is just another theory.

Schizophrenia can be treated with antipsychotics, cognitive-behavioral therapy, and education. It cannot be cured, only treated. Some examples of antipsychotics are Latuda, Risperidone, and Abilify.

Well, that wraps up with what I have to say. I had fun doing this stuff. I need to do it again. How about I do a series this week based on this kind of thing?

12 thoughts on “Mental Health Awareness:Schizophrenia 

  1. Awesome article. There aren’t enough people discussing the schizophrenic spectrum. My psychosis is that I think this “reality” is all an extended psychotic episode and I’m going to wake up in a psych hospital any minute. There are junction points and I test this reality sometimes. I’ve been diagnosed with bipolar though so I guess they’ve decided it’s a delusion of grandeur to think I created and maintain this entire world. Logically I know this is untrue but I still believe it sometimes and have to convince myself that this isn’t all a delusion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you.
      I don’t think there’s enough people talking about the schizophrenic spectrum either. I know what it’s like to go through some things that you’re not too sure about because of your psychosis. It’s hard to snap yourself out of thinking that it’s untrue because you still want to believe it. I know that my delusion is untrue, but it still provides me comfort in a way. Is that the same for you?

      Like

      • That’s interesting, I think I have the same phenomena but with the opposite emotional result: I’m not sure it provides me with comfort, more the opposite: I think it’s more a manifestation of what started out as an uncertainty, or my biggest fear, and has spiralled into a belief because it’s impossible to disprove on some level. I fear waking up from this life, and for example when I went to get diagnosed a couple of weeks ago I was having the worst anxiety of my life in absolute terror that at some point during my hospital visit it would transpire that none of this is real, my husband, my bunnies, my house, my driving licence, and that I’d be exactly where I was when I was 18, only older and trapped in a hospital. Dislike! I feel railroaded at times like that, like I can’t snap myself out of it because it’s like watching a car crash and I can’t look away.
        I also fear doing something stupid to test reality or because I believe I’m invulnerable due to thinking I’m really somewhere else. Also the severity comes and goes; do you have times when it feels more real than other times?
        What DOES comfort me is how vivid my imagination is from all this, and the connections I feel when I’m in a manic state and I can see the universal interconnectedness. And stuff.
        Sorry, I’m definitely not trying to be dismissive. Do you ever test the environment to check?

        Like

      • No, that’s totally alright.
        I used to test the environment before I was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder. I used to hurt myself to see if the pain was real. I used to question if things were real or a dream, and if they were a dream, then I would wonder if I could make them a reality.
        I did things I normally didn’t do because I was so engulfed in trying to figure out what my reality was. I still check my environment, but the thing about it is that I mess with people’s emotions at times to see if this interaction is real. It’s costed me so many friends, but I can’t help it. It’s just how I am, I suppose.

        Like

      • Yeah I guess it’s down to the nature of each disorder as well – with the bipolar, I take stupidly excessive risks when I’m testing reality or convinced this is all a dream like climbing out of the window of a 4th floor Victorian (so the ceilings were VERY high anyway) building and climbing down the outside of the building to prove to myself that buildings were climbable and gravity wasn’t real. THAT cost me most of the friends I’d made in first year at uni because they all freaked out about it.
        Since my dad died 2 weeks ago I’ve actually been totally fine on the reality front (it was literally the day after that hospital visit so I don’t know which event ended the loop but I’m just hoping it doesn’t come back). Its not my only delusion but it’s been the most pervasive. Yesterday I had a fleeting thought that my husband was a terminator type robot. Really hope that doesn’t take hold next. Still waiting for medication of some sort…

        Like

      • I would say fight to get in to see a psychiatrist. They’ll know what to do for you. This is something that needs to be addressed.
        I had a battle getting some meds but when I met the right person, they helped me get on some meds. I hope you find that person, too. It can be really tough when you don’t have them.

        Like

  2. Great post – and great to see you sharing your experiences. Have you come across the TED talk from Eleanor Longden? https://www.ted.com/speakers/eleanor_longden

    We are busy being taught (as potential mental health nurses) that the reasons Eleanor provides are why we should be reaching a shared understanding with people we work with and recognising their individual challenges and strengths rather than focusing on the label of Schizophrenia or any other diagnosis (mental or physical). Its an interesting avenue.

    Really glad I came across your blog as part of mental health awareness week 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

