Abilify – 2 Weeks After Starting

So, it’s been 2 weeks since I’ve started taking Abilify, and I must say that this medication is powerful for me.  I am more outgoing — according to the Myers-Briggs Personalities, I went from an INFJ to an ENFJ.  That means I’m naturally more outgoing than I previously was.  (Oh, and before I forget, ENFJ personalities are, how you say, controlling.)

I switched back to Christianity and realized that Wicca was an impulsive thing to go after, and the religion should not be taken lightly.  I am happy to say that I’m a Christian again, and I felt more compelled to talk to others in church, therefore making me feel like I belong in there.

I am pretty sure that Abilify is making my sleep more regular than before.  I can’t sleep over 10 hours, so that’s handy.  I can also sleep deeper and can sleep with dreams right now.  Like, the last time I dreamed was… what, months ago…?  Now I’m having a dream every night, and it’s so good.  They’re mostly positive dreams as well.

I do not feel empty anymore.  I feel fabulous and happy.  I have had a couple of times where I was sad, and I think those mood swings had to do with some other biological things (hint, hint).  I still feel emotions rather deeply, and it stinks.  Maybe it could be fixed with a higher dose, but I’m not sure.

The Risperidal’s effect is fading off, and that means that some hallucinations are coming back: the commenting voice, the sound I hear when I’m in the shower…  Those are the only things I seem to be hearing now.  I think the Abilify is making up for what the Risperidal isn’t doing.

So, at this point in life, I have schizoaffective disorder, and my symptoms are under control for the most part.  I think that this is alright for the meantime.  My appointment is tomorrow, and I think that he may bump up the Abilify while decrease my Risperidal.  Here comes the scariest part of transitioning meds.  I have to prepare myself…

3 thoughts on “Abilify – 2 Weeks After Starting

    • Oh, wow! That must be rough! But, I’m kind of happy to hear that I’m not the only one who’s on it. I’m currently on 10 mgs, and I’m sure I’ll go up a dose higher given my hallucinations.

      But still, that’s really neat!

      Like

Leave a Reply

