31 Days of Bipolar – Days 10 & 11

So, I decided to do this while I was relaxing. Plus, I have nothing really to do to. This may cure my boredom, so without further ado, question 10.

10. Do you tell people you’re bipolar? Why/why not?

For the most part, I don’t let people know I have bipolar disorder. If my friends (which consist of about 2 people right now) bring up their bipolar disorder, I bring mine up too.  We compare notes as to how we handle things and what we deal with, and I think that’s pretty cool.

I don’t tell random strangers or my family either, and it’s because of the stigma behind the diagnosis.  People expect me to become violent or change my moods rapidly if they upset me, and they’ll think of me in a different light. They’ll treat me different, so I don’t tell them.

11. What resources do you recommend and why? (Books, documentaries, websites etc … anything at all.)

I’m trying to think of resources, and the first person who comes to mind is Autumn Asphodel. She transitioned from male to female, is a spiritual being (not to be confused with religion), and she has schizoaffective disorder. Now, many people are going to be like “that’s not the same thing as bipolar,” but I found a lot of comfort in her videos when I was on some extreme lows. Her videos have really helped me cope with the idea of possibly having schizophrenia attached onto my bipolar disorder diagnosis.  She’s really neat. I love her so much!

Another YouTuber that stands out to me is Jackie (SuperCrazyLady21).  I completely and utterly warn you, some of her videos can be triggering. But, she is completely open about her mental illnesses. She has a lot: anorexia/bulimia, schizoaffective disorder, PTSD, and currently, she announced that she may have DID (multiple personality disorder). I highly respect her for going and filming about her mental disorders and becoming an open book. She’s been around for longer than Autumn, so you can see how her disorders develop and are treated; she’s kind of that big sister figure to me. I love her as well.

Those are all of the resources I can think of. But yeah, if you have any documentaries, resources, books, and the like, please leave a comment below and let me know!

Leave a Reply

