31 Days of Bipolar – 3 & 4

In case you guys couldn’t tell, I’m answering these questions within 16 days to make it easier and move faster. I think it’s a wise decision, and here we are on today’s questions.

3. How old were you at the onset? How old were you at diagnosis? How were you given the diagnosis and are you satisfied with the way it was handled?

Oh, that’s a really, really good question. Even though I was 18 at the time of diagnosis, I found that I displayed some symptoms of bipolar disorder as early as 5 or 6. I was well-known for having depressive symptoms, and with the impulsivity, I found that I was essentially binge eating, which was another diagnosis, but let’s not get into that. I was also having temper tantrums when things didn’t exactly go my way, and at one point, I broke something out of anger. Anyone who knows Bipolar Disorder on an early onset knows that the symptoms can be displayed in those ways.

So, the person who used to prescribe me meds (thank God he’s gone) didn’t tell me after the evaluation that I had bipolar disorder. I remember finding out during a therapy appointment out of curiosity. It was confirmed that I did have bipolar disorder, and I felt like I was instantly grouped into something that I didn’t want to be in.  I felt like someone had just stripped my identity and left me there with something slightly more severe. I am not satisfied with the way it was handled because the bastard didn’t even bother to tell me.  He just let me sit there and believe I had depression. 

4. How do you feel about people who diagnose themselves online and then treat themselves for bipolar?

Before I get into this, I must say something. I was one of these people.  I researched depression, made a checklist, “x”ed off every thing that I had, and then concluded I had depression.  Turns out I was right.  I did the same thing with bipolar disorder.  I felt as though I had it about a year ago, and now I’m diagnosed with it.  So, in reality, I benefited from diagnosing myself because in the end, I found a professional to confirm it.

But, people who diagnose themselves, don’t seek a professional, and then go and treat themselves with it? I don’t like that.  It’s kind of saying that you either want to ignore what is best for you or you want a mental disorder.  I’ve known some people that said they were depressed when really, it seemed like they were lying. If you’re wanting to treat your bipolar disorder with marijuana and alcohol, go right ahead. I just don’t think that it’s the best way to go about it.

But yeah, there’s some of my opinions. I think I might get fired up about some things on here because some of these things really grind my gears. (Family Guy reference, for the uninformed.) Anyways, I’ll see you guys later.

Oh. By the way, here is my new blog. I promise, I’ll try to be interesting on here. So, yeah, we’ll see where it goes.

Leave a Reply

